ABU Student Beats 6...
Clear all

ABU Student Beats 60 Students To Win The Inaugural Lekan Otufodunrin Student Journalists Award 2021

Umah Muhammed
Posts: 4507
Topic starter
Famed Member
Joined: 1 year ago

Muhammad Auwal Ibrahim of the Mass Communication Department, Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) has been declared winner of the inaugural Lekan Otufodunrin Campus Journalists Award.

Ibrahim who is a team member of The Abusites was announced as the overall winner on Sunday at a virtual ceremony held to mark the 57th birthday of Otufodunrin, an accomplished journalist, and media career development specialist.

Recall that The Abusiteĺs reported last week that he was shortlisted alongside four others out of the 61 entries received.

The Lekan Otufodunrin Student Journalists Award was initiated to celebrate outstanding student journalists in the country. It was initiated by two of Otufodunrin former junior colleagues at The Nation, Shehu Olayinka, and Late Yinka Akintunde.


According to the Judges’ report for the award, the story by Muhammad Auwal Ibrahim on “How Nigerian State Governments Poorly Interacted with Citizens via Emails During COVID-19 Pandemic, Despite ICT Advancement” addressed a critical issue of public interest.

ALSO READ:  Students Admitted Outside CAPS May Not Be Mobilise For NYSC – JAMB

“Ibrahim’s winning piece looks at how the Nigerian government, in the face of the global pandemic, interacted poorly with citizens electronically despite numerous announcements and publications that the government has put in place to address people’s concerns and inquiries during the pandemic.

“The creativeness and uniqueness of the story takes it ahead of other nominees who, to their best, also touched on challenges and failings by the government in their primary assignment.

“The story’s depth exposes government at all level continuous lack of understanding of the advancement of Information and Communications Technology (ICT) in ordinary citizens’ day-to-day lives,” the judges stated.

While responding to winning the award on behalf of the winners, Ibrahim said he was delighted and stressed the need for journalism to be used to promote the public good.

The first-prize winner will receive N70,000, the Second prize winner, N50,000, and the third prize, N30,000. There are other undisclosed cash prizes for other winners.

ALSO READ:  ABU Matriculates 10,000 Students, out 40,000 UTME and DE Applications

Ibrahim defeated sixty student journalists from various tertiary institutions nationwide to emerge champion of the inaugural competition.

Mr. Otufodunrin also congratulated the winner and the runners-up while commending the high quality of entries.

He said the stiff competition for the award is indicative of the capacity of student journalists in the country.

This is the fifth award named after Otufodunrin, Executive Director of Media Career Development Network.

Topic Tags